Sayad Zahoor Shah Hashumi

Sadaf Baloch, Turbat, Kech Sayad Zahoor Shah Hashumi was born in 1939 in the coastal town of Gwadar. He received his early education at home from his father Syed Mohammad Shah, who was a learned man in the oriental tradition. He was enrolled in a local school, where he taught Arabic language, as a compulsory subject, besides Persian and English. In a short period of time Sayad Hashumi not just established a library in town, but he also changed this library into a center of political activities. With the order of Wali of Gwadar, he was arrested and sentenced to imprisonment. This act warmed-up the atmosphere of Gwadar and Wali of Gwadar soon realized that this might be changed into a worse scenario for him and his government position in Gwadar. The Wali of Gwadar not just made him free but also sent him to exile. Sayad Hashumi came to Pakistan and joined radio Pakistan Karachi as in-charge of Balochi transmission. He felt the scarce of standard Balochi scripts and grammar. He started writing Balochi poetry. He also put efforts on the merger of two Balochi organizations-Halqa-e-Adab and Bazm-e-Adab to form one organization, Zuban-e-Sarchamag. In 1954, he compiled a basic Qaida of Balochi Language. This Qaida was much warmly welcomed and approved by Sarchamag, Balochi writers and researchers. After some years of his life in Bahrain, during his last years of life, he devoted days and nights for the development of Balochi Language. During that ailment, he compiled a book about Balochi grammar, names BALOCHI SIYAHAG-E-RAST NABISAG. In 1963, a Europeon orientalist Dr. John Strasser returned Pakistan to study Balochi Language. He visited the different Balochi speaking areas of Pakistan, Iran and Afghanistan. He held meetings with Balochi writers. He was very much impressed and happy with the work of Hashumi. He invited Hashumi to join him and assist him in his research. Waja Zahoor Hashumi got marred in 1970 in Karachi, where he published the first Balochi novel ever. His one of the most important and biggest work, Sayad Gang, the first Balochi dictionary ever, which is a precious gift for Balochi Language. He gave his 26 years to the extensive research in which he went across Balochi speaking world and conducted countless discussions with scholars and common folk to complete the dicrionary. He passed away in April 1978. Waja is no more physically among us, but his countless efforsts for the promotion of Balochi Language will never let him die from our hearts, minds and the history of Baloch.

Posted on August 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve
    definitely picked up anything new from right here. I
    did however expertise a few technical points using this site, as I experienced to reload the site many times previous

    to I could get it to load correctly. I had been
    wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that

    I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your

    placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and

    marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update

    this again soon..

  2. What i don’t realize is in truth how you’re

    not actually much more well-

    preferred than you might be now. You’re so intelligent. You already know thus significantly in terms of this topic, produced me

    personally believe it from numerous various angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be

    involved except it is one thing to accomplish with

    Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. All the time
    care for it up!

  3. I’m still learning from you, while I’m making my way
    to the top as well. I definitely love reading everything

    that is posted on your website.Keep the information
    coming. I loved it!

  4. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and
    I’m impressed! Extremely

    useful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such

    information much. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  5. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some

    guidance from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog?
    I’m not

    very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but

    I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Cheers

  6. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a

    acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear

    idea

Leave a Reply

